#28 – I’m coming home!

From Lynne:

One thing I have not motioned: we have all been sick…in some cases sicker than we had ever been.  It turns out three of us had bugs and recovered in a couple of days, but of course, JoAnn, show-off that she is, has Typhoid Fever!  So, needless to say, we are not hanging around with her anymore!  🙂  She is recovering well.  The last three days we have walked into town and taken bota-botas home.

Love to all who have read and commented here. I have not kept up with the questions, but appreciate each of them. Hopefully the additional photos will compensate. It has been a wonderful trip, and I am grateful for the opportunity and for my gracious and generous hosts, the Sisters of St. Joseph.  Thanks especially to Kyle Kratky, who is the production manager for this blog, and to the staff and board of Doorways, who told me everything was going great whenever I called.

Tomorrow I come home to the states.  I will take a jeep ride to Entebbe, where I will fly to London then Chicago and on to St. Louis, and then I’m home again.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dennis K Hoffert on March 7, 2010 at 10:25 am

    Safe home, Lynne.

    Dennis

    Reply

  2. Posted by Joeann Beresford on March 7, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Sorry you have all been sick . . . and sorry that Jo has had to suffer with typhoid … love to her, of course! Safe trip, home, Lynne, and I look forward to chatting a bit with you once things settle down a bit for you. Love as always, Cec

    Reply

  3. Posted by Faye Licata on March 7, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    Hi! This is Courtney. I am so excited to see you come home!! I missed you- and your girl scout cookies are waiting, just for you, I mean, every thing is waiting for you!

    P.S. Travel Safely!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  4. Hello Lynne:
    My name is also Lynne Cooper. I live in Nova Scotia Canada with my husband Mike and our two dogs, I came across your website recently documenting your time in Africa. I really enjoyed looking at your photo’s and comments and thank you for sharing them. I hope you have a safe trip home. God bless you! Lynne

    Reply

    • Posted by Lynne Cooper on March 13, 2010 at 2:41 pm

      Hi, Lynne Cooper from Canada! I am on a friend’s computer but wanted to write and thank you for your message! Lynne
      (lmcooper@doorwayshousing.org)

      Reply

  5. Posted by Marcia Samuel on March 8, 2010 at 9:17 am

    Get out of there and get home enough is enough “TYPHOID FEVER” run. I saw Carly the other day and she said she miss her mommy.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Mary Gene Boteler on March 8, 2010 at 9:30 am

    Hello, Lynne–

    You’ve often been in my thoughts and prayers, but I must admit that I have just had a chance to view the webpage of your travels. It brought back memories of my own time in Africa. Thanks for the great documentation–loved the pictures.

    I was sorry to hear that you were sick—but it does not look as if it kept you down. Hope you have a safe trip home. I am sorry that i will be in Louisville at the end of the week and miss the homecoming celebration. I will look forward to hearing more about it.

    Shalom,
    Mary Gene

    Reply

  7. Posted by Susan Kohl on March 8, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    Wow
    What a trip! We are so excited you are returning. Sorry you and Jo became ill. What is Jo’s recovery time and prognosis? We have so many questions and can’t wait to hear about your experiences!!!

    Reply

  8. Call me when you get back to saint louis… i would love to participate in your debriefing process: maybe over dinner!!! I am looking forward to introducIng you to the 2 new members of the Tucker family, Colin and Hadley.

    Safe travels,

    rst

    Reply

Leave a Reply

